How Do I love Thee? With a brand new chair obsession

1950s Carl Jacobs Kandya Jason chair

Photo via here

kandya jason chair

Photo via here

Photo via here

Photo via here

Chair - Jason

Photo via here

Photo via here
Carl Jacobs may well be my new hero. His iconic Kandya Chair design from 1951 has everything I love, a tad futuristic in its progressiveness and wholly desirable in its material. Using a single sheet of flexible plywood that wraps around the chair it smacks of Eames and Saarinen who were experimenting with single pieces of moulded plastic at the same time. And while I love the Eames and the Saarinens out there, truly I do, this little Jason chair has caught my attention and I am envisioning a multitude of places it’ll look good in my house. That said, though, after twenty years of continuous production, it isn’t made anymore which makes them extra specially special with a formidable price tag to boot. Sigh.
Check out eBay for what’s on offer and while you’re at it decide which you like best, the plain, simple teak or beech on wooden legs or the painted ones OR the ones on metal legs? All beautiful in my eyes but the former wins, every time. I might just have to buy one or two, one might get lonely, for myself for Christmas.
Until next time, let us all bask in the glory of chairs –  particularly the mid-century modern sort…
2 thoughts on “How Do I love Thee? With a brand new chair obsession

Leave a Reply

