How do I love thee? With striped everything, please!

Many years ago an ex colleague told me that stripes (we’re talking the horizontal variety)make one look wider and therefore indicate a non existent heftiness. This was all said because a third colleague (and very good friend) was joyfully sporting stripes (yup, horrifyingly, the horizontal breed) all through her pregnancy. Obviously, this bestowed a whole new meaning on stripes and heft and one I had never contemplated before. And you know what? I liked it. Loved, in fact. It was probably some childish rebellion but ever since, I have become, somewhat, obsessed with stripes. And proudly decked out my pregnant belly in all manner of striped attire. For some reason it felt right, not to mention good.

I love stripes. Take a peek into my wardrobe and you’ll spy far too many stripy pieces. Watch me shop and you’ll witness me, instinctively, heading towards stripes. Obviously this little, ahem, obsession has extended into interiors and design. I have become so infatuated with them that I have an entire Pinterest board dedicated to the glory of said feature and would love to kit my entire house out in a mono-chromed haze of stripes.

(Images from here, here, here, here and here)

2 thoughts on “How do I love thee? With striped everything, please!

Leave a Reply

