How Do I Love Thee? Sitting comfortably!

1950s mustard Italian scroll arm sofa

Danish retro teak armchair Illum Wikkelsø for Søren Willadsen

Photos via here

Pink

Photo via here

upholstery

Photo via here

yellow chairs - vintage

Photo via here

Vintage chairs

Photo via here

vintage tolix chairs

Photo via here

Photo via here

Stitching and teasing my client’s chair hasn’t, quite, been as easy as it should be. It’s not that it’s difficult, in itself, but difficult to find the time to devote to it, at home. Studio time is great but home time, not so. And while I should be using this fabulous daylight to aid my progress, I find myself observing the chair in my environment. Out of context, lines have been blurred and that 1900s sprung chair, covered only in scrim looks odd but, also, very beautiful on my white floor, against a black wall.  The thing that fascinates me most, though, is the design sensibilities that accompany my observations.

This blog is both testament and documentation of my love of design in an abundance of varying forms. And while I ponder why the chair, covered only in scrim, looks so good I wonder what do I like and why? I like chairs. All sorts and in an array of designs. You’ve seen my German Cocktail chair and that may, well, capture the essence of what I really like to be surrounded by. An old chair covered in something new and, thereby allowed to live , again. Allowed to evolve. Allowed to be something a five year old bounces on. And that’s just it, good design shouldn’t be precious nor should it be haughty or smug (yes, I am guilty of both).

Ah how I could muse over this for an eternity but won’t, just now, and instead leave you with a taste of what sits comfortably with me; the things I like the look of and the things I would like in my home. They’re quite different. An array of contrasting styles and eras brought together because they have been reupholstered in an unsuspecting fabric or a painted chair with a pop of unexpected colour or, indeed, a rusty set of seats sitting along side a pristine background. Put together because, quite simply, they represent a process, one where they have gone through a change and have, ultimately ended up looking beautiful.

And that’s what makes chair design so captivating- its ability to change and vary in its construction, style and decoration…

Leave a comment